Lost Architectural Treasures
The Corona School 1889 - 1911, Renamed Lincoln School, 1911 - 1950 (when the current Lincoln School opened on Fullerton Avenue) faced Tenth Street, between Victoria and Howard. The second floor housed high school students; the first floor was the grammar school. In 1914, the bell tower and second story were removed due to structural safety concerns.
Corona’s second grammar school was built in the Mission Revival style, in 1911. It was located south of Second Street facing Grand Boulevard. The school was named Washington School. It served the community until 1950.
Corona’s first High School, built in 1907 in the Classical Revival style, occupied the 1200 block of South Main Street. It served as the High School until 1923, when it was converted to Corona Junior High School. The building was torn down in 1940-41 after being declared unsafe.
Corona’s first City Hall, built in 1913, served the city for 49 years, until 1962. Located on the northeast corner of Eighth and Main Street its classic architecture served as a movie set as the County Courthouse in the 1951 movie Storm Warning.
The Lord building occupied the southwest corner of Seventh and Main Street from about 1910 until 1970. The second of two unique buildings in Corona with a cantilevered cupola on the corner. It was designed and constructed by Corona architect Leo Kroonen for Daniel Lord. It was a casualty of downtown urban renewal.
From 1888 until 1939, when it was remodeled and the witch’s hat cupola was removed, Citizens Bank occupied the northwest corner of Sixth and Main Street.
The Corona Municipal Plunge, with its turrets and battlements was unique. Built in 1925 on the southwest corner of City Park, facing East Sixth Street, by local builder G. C. Berner, it was demolished in1965 to make way for a new City pool..
Parkridge Country Club 1925 to 1928, Parkridge Sanitarium 1928 for a short time. Demolished in the 1960’s to make way for the Cresta Verde Golf Course and housing development. Located North of Parkridge / Cresta Road and east of the I-15 North
The Exchange Lemon Products building located North of the railroad tracks at 301 N. Joy Street, near Harrison Street. Later known as the “Sunkist” plant Original construction began in 1915, with additions and expansion to the structure around 1930. it operated until 2005. It was known for the steam whistle that sounded at 12 noon every day.
The Hotel Del Rey, was built in 1904, located on the southeast corner of Victoria Avenue and East Sisth Street. It was built as a two story structure, then, in 1907 it was remodeled by raising the building up and adding the third story at ground level. In 1998 it was dismantled and stored at Corona Heritage Park for reassembly at a later date.
The Victorian style Hotel Temescal, built in 1887 was to be the premier hotel in Corona. It was located near Washburn and Main Street. It burned down in 1899 when the steel wheel of a wagon passed over the fabric fire fighting hose and cut the hose. This drawing depicts an automobile of a later period.
Corona’s Classical Revival styled Carnegie Library served the community from, 1906 -1971. It was located at the southeast corner of Eighth and Main Street was demolished hurriedly in 1978 to make way for a Pioneer Chicken franchise. The lot has remained a vacant weed lot for more than 30 years.
4 - 12